An engaging experience with Saath, Parth Kapadia

Parth Kapadia is an engineering student currently studying at Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University. He recently finished his summer internship with Saath. Given below is his experience of working with Saath.

My working with Saath was truly a mesmerising  experience. I worked with IMG_20140407_202532Saath from 15th May till 7th June. I was always keen on working for a social cause and a course from our college, Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University gave me an opportunity to do the same. Our main aim was to get sensitised to the issues of slum dwellers, which by working as an intern at Saath really made it possible.  In a short period of 24 days I was exposed to the distressing condition of the slum dwelling people.

I started my internship at Saath with an orientation to all the programmes and initiatives taken up by Saath and was thoroughly convinced with the programmes  which demonstrated high level of transparency and accountability.

I was assigned a job under the Research, Documentation and Communication Cell (RDC). Because of this I was able to interact with the community people and was really touched with the dire condition  through which people have to find their way through. I made various case studies and talked to people of every age, from kids to elder citizens. It was a quite challenging task to prise things out of them and at the same time making sure that their sentiments and values are not hurt. Many people just happened to burst into tears while talking about their problems.

IMG_20140613_103739Parth with the CFS centre children

Alongside getting an insight of the people’s life I really learned values that we should be really thankful to God for what we have and never complain about it because there are many others who actually are craving for a life like what we have presently. I developed my interpersonal skills and got first hand experience of a professional environment which was quite overwhelming. I made new friends here and travelled across various places at Ahmedabad mainly the slums.

At particular I am most awestruck with the working of CFS which I felt is the most amazing programme taken up by Saath as it is rendering children with basic facilities of elementary education. The slum dwelling kids are so enthusiastic about it and they readily drop into CFS centers for learning new things everyday!

I would like to thank all the officials at Saath for heartily welcoming me and for such cordial behavior all throughout my days at Saath. It was really great working with all of the members at Saath.

 

Leave a Reply

